After 21 Days: Change is a Bitch

 

Change can be a bitch.

We can be quite used to the usual to the point that it takes serious effort to make any changes, even if it’s for the better.
Recently, I tried this theory of 21 days. The idea goes like this…

If you can change any bad habits, quit whatever bad thing you do for 21 days, you will have started to make good habits. After those 21 days, you will be on your road to a better, healthier self.

In truth, it’s a load of dingo’s kidneys.

I speak from experience because I did the 21 days. It seemed to help, til I fell off the wagon.

Oh, wait. I’m gettin ahead of myself.

The reason for starting said 21 days was the beginning of an over-all over-haul of my personal habits, starting with my lack of writing, being lazy, a procrastinator, & scarfing too much junk food. So, I started the 21 days, and things went swimmingly! Until I picked a couple of bags of chips for dinner… and ate them both… In one sitting. But I was able to talk myself out of that misstep being a mistake. It was a reward! Ooo! Faboo! A reward! Cause of all the writing I’ve been doing, I deserve to make myself fatter and less healthy. I used that logic twice more over the 21 days.

In hindsight, it was better than what I used to do, and how frequently I used to do it. But geez, man.

After the 21 days, I had a few days of reflection, and pigging out.

So much for the 21 days.

But it did do something for me. I looked back on those days and saw how productive I was. I did a lot of writing, and got a lot accomplished! It also made me see what I could do if I was motivated correctly. And that, dear reader, is the point of my rambling this time out.

There are a lot of ideas and methods out there to improve yourself, either by quitting a bad habit, exercising, avoiding clowns, or whatever. But in the end, you have to be the one who really wants those changes. Sorry if that sounds all New Age-y and such, but in my experience with dealing with being over weight, and trying to rid myself of my bad habits, even well before those 21 days, in the end, I had to want the changes.

When you really want change in your life, self-help books, CDs, and all that crap will lead you down a path that might help. They might inspire you, and help you see new ways of doing things. But you still need to make the changes. Nothing else will do it for you. No one else will help you. All they do is offer support.

The support is always appreciated, but it’s a battle you have to do, and hopefully win. Even if you make a mistake, or fall off the wagon, you can always get back on. You can always start again.

That’s what I’ve done.

Published by: Sarcasticus Rex

Sarcasticus Rex is the online name of Mark MacKinnon. A Canadian scriptwriter, writer, creator of the Infinatum (short stories, future book series &/or comics/ graphic novels), and occasional blogger. Influences range from Anime to ancient mythology to sci-fi to actual science to conspiracy theories to super-fi (superhero fiction) to social issues and anything in-between.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , 4 Comments

4 thoughts on “After 21 Days: Change is a Bitch”

  1. Your 21 days was a worthy exercise. Even though you had a misstep, you kept going and you’re all the more healthier and wiser for it.

    Speaking on the food side of things, I don’t believe in cutting things out completely. This is what leads to falling off the wagon. I don’t really care for donuts, but if someone told me I could never eat one again, I would crave it. The trick is moderation. I buy treats in small portions, that way I can’t pig out on them. If they don’t come in small portions, I do the portions myself (ziploc bags) or pour a serving into a bowl and forbid myself from going back to the cupboard for more. I pretend it’s not even there. Whatever is in the bowl is all I have. I never sit down with a whole box or bag of something… it’s too hard to stop, especially if I’m doing other distracting things like watching a movie or reading someone’s blog. If chips are your thing, they do have small bags that are about 100 – 250 cals each (Old Dutch Baked Chips of various flavours, Doritos, Sun Chips, Lays Original etc). It works for me, perhaps it can work for you too! 🙂 Anyway congratulations on your 21 days and I’m thrilled you got so much writing done!

    1. You may have a point there, about moderation. I’m trying to find smaller version substitutes for full bags of chips, like rice chips and popcorn with spicy flavour powder on them. But ziplocking them might be a good idea as well. Never thought of that. Thanks. 🙂

  2. One of the personal trainers that I know, said that one of the bits of advice that he gives his clients who are trying to lose weight is to plan to go off the wagon.
    For instance, if you would normally wait to the end of a week and CAVE in, instead PLAN to have a cave in on Wednesday instead. He says by planning them you end up having a small indulgence instead of going all out and feeling like you have to start over again.

    1. I’ve been hearing that, or a variation of that, from a few people. Makes sense. lol I’ve been inadvertantly doing that anyways and feeling bad about it. Maybe I should just accept the rare indulgence. Better than a pig-out.

Leave a Reply

