Tales from Sark’s World: Ambition and Ideas

I’ve been busy recently, but not so much in the “writing actual stories” way. It has been fun and enjoyable, but I’ve also realized some changes need to be made…

First, my writing style.

I started out writing scripts. I pounded out seven of them in the span of a few years. As much as I enjoyed writing them, and despite the fact I have a bunch more script ideas to write, the reality of selling a script was going to be pretty hard. It could be done, but like many, I didn’t have the gumption to do it.

There was another thing, the Infinatum. I had a LOT of characters and stories ideas tat I wanted to tell. I plotted out some to write as a screenplay, but the likely hood of that happening was slim to nil, especially considering the potentially FX-heavy requirements. Comic books would have been a good outlet. As Joss Whedon said when he continued Buffy the Vampire Slayer in comic book form, the budget was unlimited! Still, I had to find someone to draw out my stories and idea because, honestly, my drawing skills both suck and blow.

That’s when I fell into prose. Why not write an anthology and see where that takes me. Years later, and after numerous re-writes and addition, I completed “The Black Wave Event” (or BWE for short), my first novel! The catch, I wrote it in present tense. That’s how I wrote my scripts! So, it carried over.

The people who have read excerpts from the BWE have liked it, and weren’t tripped up by the whole present tense thing. I did a little research and discovered others have written books in the present tense, too much success. Others didn’t think much of it as a writing style, and supported the more commonly acceptable past tense style of writing. For me, my stories seemed to flow more smoothly and quickly in present tense.

The problem is, if it is too easy, then sometimes, it’s not worth doing. So my next challenge is to write in the present tense. I’m going to study a bit and get some practice in. It may be tricky at first, but my hope is that it will improve my writing style and make me more versatile. I might need that for what’s to come…

 

Second, flash fiction.

According to my resources, flash fiction is a story that is between 300 to 1000 words long. Consider this blog, at this point, is about 416 words long, 1000 words ain’t no thang. But since I like to ramble, keeping a coherent, concise story under 1000 words might be tricky.

On the other hand, it might be a fun exercise, especially if I work on my writing in past tense-style. While I was thinking all this, an idea popped into my head…

“Infinatum Flash 50”!

The goal would be to write 50 flash fiction stories either based in the Infinatum, or featuring a character from the Infinatum… or I could just make more work for myself and never get anything done! Geez!

Flash fiction is a cool idea that I may try out, but seriously, I have LOTS of other things to work on…

 

Third, the Infinatum book series.

When I completed the BWE, I already had a bunch of story-lines plotted out featuring some of the characters that were featured in the novel. As many of my ideas do, they began to grow, and grow, and grow.

I was a little worried about what to do with these ideas, especially if I wanted to do them as comics or something else. Then I saw all these book series out there. Harry Potter, Twilight, Arthur C. Clarke’s Odyssey book series, the Dark Tower series, and so on. I realized I could create a book series by utilizing all these characters and ideas.

Originally, it went up to eight books. But as more ideas came and swelled some of the stories lines, 8 books became 16! WTF! 16?! Am I frickin’ nuts?!

Now before you think I’m boasting, or think that my writing skills are all that and a bag of Doritos, I can assure you that I am not. Maybe, if I became suddenly a prolific, Stephen King-ish writing machine, I may be able to do this. I have no idea if book 2 or 3 would get picked up and published, let alone 13 others!

But here’s the thing; these characters, this multiverse, has been rattling around in my head for the better part of my life. Some of these character I’ve known for decades! Ever since I started to develop them more, other ideas and characters has been built. Maybe by actually writing them in story form, I can finally get them out of my head and, dream of dreams, others will like them and want to read more, or create more stories.

But honestly, I still write them and their stories for myself. So if I’m the only one to enjoy them, so be it. If others find them and enjoy them too, that would just be extra awesomeness.

 

So it would seem I have LOTS of work to do, not counting proof-reading BWE, and finishing some “Tales from the Infinatum”stories.

Maybe if I switched my brain off…

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

