When I saw the movie RED, with Bruce Willis and John Malkovich, I was stunned to see an idea I had for Unsound used in the movie!

At one point, someone tosses a hand grenade at Malkovich’s character. He flips the machine gun/ whatever he was using, so that he is holding the gun like a baseball bat, and knock the grenade back at the bad guy, blowing him up. I laughed, because it looked awesome seeing the character do that, but also because an idea I had was good enough for someone else to use.

LOL, no they didn’t steal it, obviously. But it was nice to know something I thought up, that I thought was cool and clever, was also thought up by people in the industry.

Having been more than two years since I revisited my completed feature film scripts, I thought I’d re-post the taglines, logline, the pitch and personal notes.

Enjoy.

 

Unsound

Taglines:

“For redemption or for honor. Either choice will be his last.”

“The killer who ruined her life might be her only salvation.”

Logline:

An infamous hitman is called out of his twenty-year “retirement” by an old friend to repay a debt by killing a young woman, who was the reason for the hitman’s exile.

Pitch:

Unsound is an action-packed drama that tells the story of two very different people, brought together by violence and death. William the Black, a retired assassin hiding from his past, and Jenn, a young woman drifting through her own life, still dealing with her past. Thanks to their chance encounter twenty years before, both have become solitary, lonely people. Now, with a contract out on Jenn and William brought back for one last kill, each has a chance to change their lives, to finally reach out for someone, even if it’s the person they’d least expect.

Personal Note: Unsound was inspired by some of my favorite actions movies. Leon (The Professional) and Hard-Boiled were probably the biggest. I read somewhere that most actions are written as “They fight.” I thought that was pretty lame. But having John Woo’s stylized action stuck in my head, I probably went overboard on the detail. But at it’s core, I think it has a great dramatic conflict, cool lead characters, and some cool action scenes. I also planned to include a character from another script as a cameo, to show these two stories had a connection, but I cut the character when I made him too interesting. It threw the readers. They wondered if this character was coming back. I still have that character in mind. He still might see the light of day somewhere down the road.

Unsound Copyrighted © 2001 Mark James MacKinnon.

