Tales from Sark’s World: Brave New Worlds, Stories, & Ideas

September always feels like a fresh start. From 1978 to 1999, I was in school, except for maybe one year. From kindergarten, through grade school, into high school, and eventually a few goes at college, I was in school. So it’s understandable why September feels like a good time to reboot one’s self.

It’s also a good time to take stock of my current projects, future projects, and such.

1. The Black Wave Event – A novel:

Well, it is done. But as I mentioned a few times before, I originally wrote it in present tense. As I have been reading through it, proof-reading and re-writing it, I’ve also been altering it from present to past tense. Actually, it has been immensely helpful switching it from present to past. I’ve been able to understand the differences better. For some reason, for the longest time, I had difficulty writing in past tense. But thanks to my switcheroo, I’m doing much better on my new material.

I hope to have the BWE finished by the end of the year. Next year, the really terrifying step, unleashing upon the world. Thankfully, it’ll be baby-steps. After copyrighting it officially, I’ll seek out professional readers or an editor to fix up my mistakes. If things go well, maybe by this time next year, the BWE will be ready, and I could be, officially, a publisher author! Whoa. Nah, I’ll just be a writer, thanks, lol.

 

2. Tales from the Infinatum – short stories and book series:

I may have mentioned I’m a glutton for punishment. Maybe, other writers have the same grand ideas that I have. Then they would be gluttons for punishment too. I haven’t even published my first novel and already, I have outlines for 18 more books, making them a series, called “Tales from the Infinatum”.

Now before you think I’m so full of myself that I would presume myself to be a literary genius, I’m most definitely not. But here’s the thing; these characters that exist within the Infinatum, have been rattling around in my head for decades. Plus, as I develop new stories and ideas, I also develop new characters, and more complicated and interwoven plot lines. Originally, the series consisted of 8 books, all taking place, roughly, within a few decades of each other. But after developing and expanding the history of the world my characters inhabited, it now involves new historical setting and characters inspired by popular literal characters of their time. From Greek mythology, to the likes of Spring-Heeled Jack and The Shadow, the Infinatum has continued to grow and grow.

To accommodate all these cool new characters and settings, the book series went from 8 to 18 books.

At some point, I have to start writing all this. So, I have no one to blame for all this but myself.

In the meantime, I have a few short stories that I can work on. These are ideas I either had before, but couldn’t find a decent place to fit them in, or they were pretty much stand-alone and I preferred them that way. Here’s a hint of them…

“The Job” – Ann Bricken meets up with her old high school friends, all of whom are successful in their own right. But when Ann tells of her recent employment, working for a mysterious, global advanced technology consulting firm, her friends are skeptical, until her work comes a calling.

“One Night Along the PCH” – Selina Cruz isn’t a fan of the famous California highway, or her current driving assignment. But when an irregular carjacker takes her for a ride, her eyes are opened, and her heart is broken by the terrible truth that she learns.

“American Schizoid” – Nicolas Kay is insane. He’d have to be. After all, he drives a Late 1970’s Lincoln Continental that talks to him, transforms into a walking battle tank, and has portal to a pocket dimension in the back seat that takes him to a remote cabin in Yosemite National Park where a beautiful, loving woman is always waiting. But when he picks up a wandering cowboy on his way back to Las Vegas, he learns a shocking truth. He may not be insane at all.

“The Future Prometheus” –  In a remote town in the Soviet Union, one of the world’s greatest minds is slowly losing her body to a crippling disease. She is given a chance for freedom, and eternal life, in an artificial body of her creation.

“Lessons” – Dr. Osaka Lo relives his life that eventually lead to his death, and his rebirth.

 

3. Under Construction:

Even though the plot outline for the first book of my series is finished, everything after book 8 still needs a lot of work. So when I’m not proof-reading finished material, or writing new material, I’m still developing plot lines, story lines, updating characters, and double-checking to make sure the continuity of everything is maintained. Continuity is pretty important, because there are a few times when other characters or events are mentioned, or even replayed from a different perspective. It can be a little complicated and occasionally daunting.

But honestly, I love doing all this shit!

FYI, just because I have an 18 book series in my head and on file, doesn’t mean that all the stories have been told. I’m just telling the main arc. Hell, it isn’t even the totality of the Tales from the Infinatum! There are so many more stories to tell, from certain individuals (IE: Pry, which I still have to finish that short story series), to groups of characters, to characters and adventures from different time periods and other dimensions!

4. Beyond the Infinatum:

Everything I just mentioned doesn’t even include the ideas I have for non-Infinatum stories. After all, I had a bunch of ideas for feature film scripts that I outlined, but never started. Those could easily be changed into prose. One of my favourite ideas is this…

” True North” – While working at the National Archives in Canada’s capital, Ottawa, Molly stumbles across a mysterious item. It hints at one of the greatest historical cover-ups in North American history, involving the British’s attack on Washington DC, and the startling confession of then president James Madison. When she and her uncle begin to follow the clues to uncover the truth, they find themselves in involved in a secret that both the Canadian and American governments have tried to keep quiet for over one hundred years.

 

I actually did some actual RESEARCH for this idea! It is a cool idea that I hope to write someday.

I have a lot of work to do. But at least its fun work!

Stay tuned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

